At the president’s discretion, the American Council of Engineering Companies/Maryland honors an individual whose actions have greatly contributed to the advancement of the consulting engineering profession and the citizens of Maryland.

2020 Winner

Christine Nizer

Christine Nizer was appointed Administrator of the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration (MDOT MVA) and Governor’s Highway Safety Representative in August 2015. Prior to that appointment, Ms. Nizer served as the MDOT MVA’s Chief Deputy Administrator and Deputy Administrator for Central Operations and Safety Programs for over eight years. She also held management positions at the Maryland Public Service Commission, the Maryland General Assembly and the Office of Homeland Security.

Ms. Nizer is a Member of the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) International Board of Directors, AAMVA Region 1 Past President and a Member of the American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials Standing Committee on Highway Traffic Safety. She is a 2011 graduate of the Leadership Maryland Program and was named the Woman of the Year in 2014 by the Women in Transportation Seminar Baltimore Chapter. In 2018, Ms. Nizer received the Chair’s Award of Excellence and Achievement by AAMVA.

Ms. Nizer earned a Master of Science degree in Public Policy from the Eagleton Institute of Rutgers University, and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science from Goucher College.

Previous Winners

1997     R. Charles Avara | former Delegate in MD General Assembly

1998     Gene Lynch | Maryland Department of General Services Secretary

1999     David Winstead | former Maryland Department of Transportation Secretary

2000     None Awarded

2001     Emil Kordish, PE | past ACEC/MD President; retired – Rummel Klepper & Kahl, LLP

2002     Liz Homer | former SHA Deputy Administrator

2003     Delegate Casper Taylor | former Speaker of the House in MD General Assembly

2004     Francis Kuchta, PE | former Baltimore City DPW Director

2005     Carl Scheffel, PE | Fox Industries Inc.

2006     Neil Pedersen | SHA Administrator

2007     William Gluck, PE | Maryland Department of General Services

2008     Don Sherin | SHA Office of Consultant Services

2009     John Porcari, PE | Maryland Department of Transportation Secretary

2010     Jaswant Dhupar, PE | former Baltimore City DPW Engineering and Water and Wastewater Division Chief

2011     Paul J. Wiedefeld | Maryland Aviation Administration

2012     Brian R. Kelm | Maryland Defense Force

2013     Donald C. Fry | President and Chief Executive officer of the Greater Baltimore Committee

2014     William K. Hellmann, PE | Rummel, Klepper & Kahl and former MDOT secretary

2015     Douglas H. Simmons, PE | SHA Deputy Administrator

2016     Stephen V. Silva | MTA Chief Engineer

2017     James M. Irvin | Howard County DPW Director

2018     Earle S. “Jock” Freedman, PE (OOS, MDOT-SHA)

2019     Gregory I. Slater | SHA Administrator

Scroll to Top